Skip to content
Licensing FAQ

Most asked Microsoft 365 licensing questions

11 Microsoft 365 licensing questions, answered from Microsoft’s own documentation. Every claim links to its source; prices are in US dollars from microsoft.com/en-za.

Choosing plans and features6

Business Premium or Microsoft 365 E3: how does the 300-seat cap work?

Short answerPer tenant. Microsoft 365 Business Premium covers up to 300 users across all Business plans; Microsoft 365 E3 has no cap.
  • The 300 seats are shared by every Business plan in the tenant. [1]
  • You can mix: up to 300 users on Business plans, the rest on E3. [1]
  • Business Premium includes Microsoft Entra ID P1, Microsoft Intune Plan 1, Microsoft Defender for Business and Windows 11 Pro. [2]
  • E3 adds Windows Enterprise, Exchange Online Plan 2, Microsoft Defender for Endpoint P1 and more Microsoft Intune. [3]
  • Microsoft Defender for Business and Microsoft Defender for Endpoint can’t run side by side. Plan the switch. [4]
Details & sources

Per tenant. The 300-seat cap counts every Business plan in the tenant together. Business Premium is the security suite for smaller companies; E3 has no seat cap and adds Windows Enterprise, Exchange Online Plan 2 and more Microsoft Intune. You can mix the two, so user 301 can just get E3.

  • The limit applies to the whole Business family in a tenant, not to each plan. Microsoft’s own example: with 250 Business Premium seats, you can add only 50 more Business seats. [1]
  • User 301 doesn’t push everyone onto E3. Business and Enterprise plans can sit side by side in one tenant, and each user gets only the features of their own licence. [1]
  • You get the Microsoft 365 Apps, Exchange Online Plan 1, Microsoft Entra ID P1 (Conditional Access), Microsoft Intune Plan 1, Microsoft Defender for Business, Microsoft Defender for Office 365 P1 and a Windows 11 Pro upgrade. [2]
  • E3 has no seat cap. It adds Exchange Online Plan 2, Windows Enterprise E3, Microsoft Defender for Endpoint P1 and eDiscovery (Standard). Since July 2026 it also includes Microsoft Defender for Office 365 P1, Microsoft Intune Plan 2 features, Remote Help and Advanced Analytics. [3]
  • One tenant can’t mix Microsoft Defender for Business with Microsoft Defender for Endpoint P1 or P2. A company that grows past 300 users usually has to move its endpoint security. [4]

For South African organisations

  • Up to 300 users, Business Premium is usually the better value. At Microsoft’s South African list prices it costs USD 22,00 per user and month with an annual commitment, against USD 39,00 for E3, and already includes Conditional Access, Microsoft Intune and Microsoft Defender for Business.

Common mistakes

  • Reading the cap as 300 per plan. It’s 300 across all Business plans.
  • Working from an E3 feature list that predates July 2026.
  • Expecting Windows Enterprise, Microsoft Defender for Endpoint P2, auto-labelling or eDiscovery (Premium) in Business Premium. It has none of them.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. Microsoft 365 Business Premium FAQ · Microsoft Learn · page dated 15 May 2026
  2. 2. Microsoft 365 Business plans and pricing (ZA) · Microsoft · page dated 15 October 2026
  3. 3. Microsoft 365 pricing and packaging updates · Microsoft Licensing · page dated 16 February 2026
  4. 4. Defender for Endpoint subscription settings (mixed licensing) · Microsoft Learn · page dated 1 June 2026
  5. Further reading (not cited above)5. Microsoft 365 Enterprise plans and pricing (ZA) · Microsoft · page dated 15 October 2026

How do I find out which licence a feature needs?

Short answerLook the feature up in its Microsoft service description. License every user who benefits, even if it’s switched on tenant-wide.
  • Microsoft Learn’s service descriptions list the suites and add-ons that grant each feature. [1]
  • The Product Terms are the contract. They beat any slide or PDF. [2]
  • The service-plan list shows what a SKU switches on, not what you may use. [3]
  • A feature that works isn’t necessarily licensed. Every user who benefits needs the licence. [4]
  • Example: Conditional Access needs Microsoft Entra ID P1; risk-based policies need Entra ID P2. [5]
Details & sources

Check the Microsoft service description on Microsoft Learn: it lists which licences grant each feature, and the Product Terms are the contract behind it. Licensing is per user. Everyone who benefits needs the licence, even when the feature runs for the whole tenant.

  • The service descriptions (Microsoft Defender, Microsoft Entra, Microsoft Intune, Microsoft Purview and others) are the main reference for which licence gives which feature. For each feature they list the suites and add-ons that grant it. [1]
  • Your use rights are defined in the Product Terms. Where a slide or PDF says something else, the Product Terms win. [2]
  • “Product names and service plan identifiers for licensing” maps each SKU to the service plans it provisions. Useful for admins, but it doesn’t state use rights. [3]
  • Many services run tenant-wide and can’t be restricted technically. Every user who benefits still needs a licence: eDiscovery (Premium) custodians, for example, or everyone whose mailbox Microsoft Defender for Office 365 protects. [4]
  • Conditional Access needs Microsoft Entra ID P1, which comes in Business Premium, E3 and EMS E3. Risk-based policies need Entra ID P2, which comes in E5 or the Microsoft Defender Suite. [5]

Common mistakes

  • Trusting a plan comparison PDF or a partner slide over the service description. Those lag behind and simplify.
  • Buying one licence to switch on a tenant-wide feature. Every user in scope must be licensed.
  • Using old names. E5 Security is now the Microsoft Defender Suite; E5 Compliance is now the Microsoft Purview Suite.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. Microsoft 365 guidance for security & compliance · Microsoft Learn · page dated 21 August 2026
  2. 2. Microsoft Product Terms · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026
  3. 3. Product names and service plan identifiers for licensing · Microsoft Learn · page dated 19 August 2026
  4. 4. Microsoft Purview service description · learn.microsoft.com · page dated 21 August 2026
  5. 5. Microsoft Entra Conditional Access: Zero Trust policy engine · Microsoft Learn · page dated 27 April 2026
  6. Further reading (not cited above)6. Modern Work plan comparison (Enterprise) · Microsoft · page dated 25 September 2026

What do we need before rolling out Microsoft 365 Copilot?

Short answerPer user: a qualifying base plan, a Microsoft Exchange Online mailbox and Microsoft 365 Copilot (Microsoft 365 Copilot Business on Business plans).
  • Most Microsoft 365 and Office 365 plans qualify. Microsoft 365 E7 already includes Microsoft 365 Copilot. [1]
  • The mailbox must be in Microsoft Exchange Online and the apps licensed per user. [2]
  • The apps must run on Current Channel or Monthly Enterprise Channel. [3]
  • Free Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat answers from the web. Answers from your own data need the licence. [1]
Details & sources

Each Microsoft 365 Copilot user needs a qualifying Microsoft 365 base licence, a paid Copilot licence, a Microsoft Entra ID account, a primary mailbox in Microsoft Exchange Online and the Office apps on Current or Monthly Enterprise Channel. Copilot Business is for Business plans up to 300 users; Microsoft 365 Copilot covers everyone else.

  • Qualifying base plans include Microsoft 365 Business Basic, Standard and Premium, E3, E5, F1 and F3, the Office 365 plans, Microsoft 365 Apps, Microsoft Teams Enterprise, and the Exchange, Microsoft SharePoint and Microsoft OneDrive plans. Microsoft 365 E7 already includes Microsoft 365 Copilot. [1]
  • Users need a Microsoft Entra ID account and a primary mailbox in Microsoft Exchange Online; on-premises mailboxes are not supported. The Microsoft 365 Apps must be licensed per user, not per device. Some features also need Microsoft OneDrive. [2]
  • Microsoft 365 Copilot needs Current Channel or Monthly Enterprise Channel. From July 2026, Semi-Annual Enterprise Channel was merged into Monthly Enterprise Channel. [3]
  • Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat is free with a work account. Since July 2026 it also shows up in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and OneNote. Answers from your own mail, files and chats, Copilot in Microsoft Teams meetings and the Researcher and Analyst agents need the paid licence. [1]

Common mistakes

  • Giving Microsoft 365 Copilot to users whose mailbox is still on-premises.
  • Leaving devices on an old Semi-Annual build or on device-based Office licensing. Microsoft 365 Copilot then won’t appear in the apps.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. License options for Microsoft Copilot · Microsoft Learn · page dated 17 September 2026
  2. 2. App and network requirements for Copilot · Microsoft Learn · page dated 24 September 2026
  3. 3. Upcoming channel unification: Semi-Annual Enterprise Channel to Monthly Enterprise Channel · Microsoft Learn · page dated 18 June 2026

Microsoft Defender Suite (formerly E5 Security) on top of E3, or full Microsoft 365 E5?

Short answerMicrosoft 365 E5 costs USD 60,00, E3 USD 39,00. Ask an IT partner for the two suites’ prices; E5 adds Microsoft Teams Phone and Power BI Pro.
  • Microsoft Purview Suite: auto-labelling, wider DLP, Insider Risk, eDiscovery and Audit (Premium). [1]
  • Only Microsoft 365 E5 adds Microsoft Teams Phone, Audio Conferencing, Power BI Pro and Windows Enterprise E5. [2]
  • Business Premium has its own versions of both suites, for up to 300 users. [3]
Details & sources

It depends on which suites you need, and ClearSource has no South African list price for the two enterprise suites yet. Microsoft 365 E3 (USD 39,00) takes two add-ons: the Microsoft Defender Suite and the Microsoft Purview Suite (formerly E5 Compliance). Microsoft 365 E5 costs USD 60,00. E3 plus both suites still lacks Microsoft Teams Phone and Power BI Pro, which E5 includes.

  • The Microsoft Purview Suite covers automatic labelling, DLP for Microsoft Teams and devices, Insider Risk Management, Communication Compliance, eDiscovery (Premium), Audit (Premium), records management, Customer Key and Customer Lockbox. [1]
  • E5 has things neither suite offers: Microsoft Teams Phone, Audio Conferencing, Power BI Pro, Windows Enterprise E5 and a Microsoft Security Copilot allowance. Since summer 2026 it also includes Microsoft Intune Endpoint Privilege Management, Cloud PKI and Enterprise App Management. [2]
  • Business Premium tenants use the Microsoft Defender Suite and Microsoft Purview Suite for Business Premium (up to 300 seats). The enterprise suites require E3. [3]
South African list prices per user and month in US dollars (annual commitment, excl. VAT)
LicencePrice
Microsoft 365 E3USD 39,00
Microsoft 365 E5USD 60,00
Microsoft Teams Phone Standard, on its ownUSD 10,00
Power BI Pro, on its ownUSD 14,00
Microsoft 365 Business PremiumUSD 22,00
+ Microsoft Defender Suite for Business PremiumUSD 10,00
+ Microsoft Purview Suite for Business PremiumUSD 10,00
+ both suites for Business PremiumUSD 15,00

For South African organisations

  • Up to 300 users, Business Premium (USD 22,00) plus both Business Premium suites (USD 15,00) gets close to E5 security and compliance for less than E5 (USD 60,00). What you don’t get: Microsoft Teams Phone, Power BI Pro and Windows Enterprise.

Common mistakes

  • Buying the enterprise suites for a Business Premium tenant. That tenant needs the Business Premium versions.
  • Licensing only the admins. Every user who benefits from a Microsoft Defender or Microsoft Purview feature needs the licence.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. Microsoft Purview service description · learn.microsoft.com · page dated 21 August 2026
  2. 2. Microsoft 365 Enterprise plans and pricing (ZA) · Microsoft · page dated 15 October 2026
  3. 3. Security add-ons for Business Premium (ZA) · Microsoft · page dated 15 October 2026
  4. Further reading (not cited above)4. Microsoft 365 pricing and packaging updates · Microsoft Licensing · page dated 16 February 2026
  5. 5. Microsoft 365 security & compliance product renames · SAMexpert · page dated 2 October 2025

Which Microsoft Purview compliance features come with Business Premium, E3 and E5?

Short answerBusiness Premium and E3: manual labels, email and file DLP, retention, Audit (Standard). Automatic labelling, eDiscovery (Premium) and Insider Risk need E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite.
  • Manual sensitivity labels are in all three; automatic labelling needs E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
  • DLP for email and files is in all three; Microsoft Teams chats and devices need E5. [1]
  • Retention policies are in all three; auto-applied labels and records management need E5. [1]
  • eDiscovery (Premium) and Audit (Premium) need E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
  • Business Premium can add the Microsoft Purview Suite for Business Premium, up to 300 users. [2]
Details & sources

Business Premium and E3 give you manual sensitivity labels, DLP for email and files, retention policies and Audit (Standard). Automatic labelling, DLP for Microsoft Teams and devices, records management, eDiscovery (Premium), Audit (Premium), Insider Risk and Communication Compliance need E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite.

  • Business Premium, E3 and E5 all include manual sensitivity labels. Automatic labelling, whether in the Office apps or on stored mail and files, needs E5, Office 365 E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
  • Business Premium and E3 include DLP for Exchange, Microsoft SharePoint and Microsoft OneDrive. DLP for Microsoft Teams chats and for Windows and macOS devices needs E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
  • Business Premium and E3 include organisation-wide retention policies (Microsoft Teams included) and manual retention labels. Auto-applied labels, adaptive scopes, event-based retention, records and disposition review need E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite. [1]
  • eDiscovery (Premium) needs E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite, for the admins and for the custodians whose data is searched. Audit (Premium), with one-year log retention, needs E5, the Purview Suite or a Business Premium Purview add-on. [1]
  • Business Premium tenants can add the Microsoft Purview Suite for Business Premium (up to 300 users). It brings automatic labelling, DLP for Microsoft Teams and devices, records management, Insider Risk, Communication Compliance, eDiscovery (Premium) and Audit (Premium). [2]
Microsoft Purview features by plan (Microsoft Purview service description, August 2026)
FeatureBusiness PremiumE3E5Purview Suite
Manual sensitivity labels✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included
Automatic labelling+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included✓ Included
DLP for Exchange, Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft OneDrive✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included
DLP for Microsoft Teams chats+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included✓ Included
DLP on Windows and macOS devices+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included✓ Included
Retention policies (incl. Microsoft Teams)✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included
Auto-applied retention labels, records+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included✓ Included
Archive up to 1.5 TB✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included—
eDiscovery (Standard)◐ Microsoft’s sources disagree✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included
eDiscovery (Premium)+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included✓ Included
Audit (Standard)✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included
Audit (Premium)+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included✓ Included
Insider Risk Management+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included✓ Included
Communication Compliance+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included✓ Included

“Add-on” means the Microsoft Purview Suite (on E3) or the Purview Suite for Business Premium. The Purview Suite is an add-on to E3, so its archive comes from E3.

Common mistakes

  • Assuming E3 includes automatic labelling or DLP on devices. It doesn’t.
  • Licensing only the compliance team. Everyone whose data falls under a premium feature needs the licence.
  • Expecting the Microsoft 365 Copilot-specific retention and eDiscovery features without a Copilot licence.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. Microsoft Purview service description · Microsoft Learn · page dated 21 August 2026
  2. 2. Security add-ons for Business Premium (ZA) · Microsoft · page dated 15 October 2026
  3. Further reading (not cited above)3. Microsoft 365 guidance for security & compliance · Microsoft Learn · page dated 21 August 2026

Does our Microsoft 365 data stay in South Africa?

Short answerSouth African tenants can keep core data in South Africa free of charge. Stronger encryption needs Microsoft 365 E5 or the Microsoft Purview Suite.
  • South African tenants: core data stored in South Africa at no extra cost. [1]
  • Microsoft’s South African datacentres are in Cape Town and Johannesburg; the in-country setting does not apply. [1]
  • Advanced Data Residency guarantees in-region storage and must cover all eligible paid seats. [2]
  • Advanced Data Residency is an add-on to 12 plans and included in none. [3]
  • Customer Key, Advanced Message Encryption and Customer Lockbox: E5, E7, Office 365 E5, Microsoft Purview Suite. [4]
  • Business Premium has Basic Message Encryption; the other three need its Microsoft Purview Suite. [5]
  • Customer Key lets you encrypt with root keys you control. [6]
Details & sources

Core data can. Microsoft commits to storing core Microsoft 365 data of South African tenants in South Africa at no extra cost. Broader guarantees need the paid Advanced Data Residency add-on. Customer Key, Advanced Message Encryption and Customer Lockbox need E5, E7, Office 365 E5 or a Microsoft Purview Suite. ClearSource does not state which data is stored where; Microsoft’s pages are listed below.

  • For tenants provisioned in South Africa, Microsoft’s Product Terms commit to storing core Microsoft 365 data at rest in South Africa, including Exchange Online mailbox content and SharePoint site content, at no extra cost; broader guarantees need the paid Advanced Data Residency add-on. [1]
  • Microsoft lists Cape Town and Johannesburg as its datacentre locations for South Africa. The “Store Microsoft 365 customer data in-country” setting is available only to tenants in five European countries, not South Africa. [1]
  • Advanced Data Residency commits data at rest in Exchange, Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft Teams and more to your local datacenter region; South Africa is eligible. It must be licensed for 100% of the tenant’s eligible paid seats. [2]
  • Microsoft’s plan comparisons list Advanced Data Residency as an add-on to 12 plans (Business Basic, Standard and Premium; Microsoft 365 E3, E5, E7, F1 and F3; Office 365 E1, E3, E5 and F3) and as included in none. It has no SKU and no South African list price. [3]
  • Customer Key, Advanced Message Encryption and Customer Lockbox are included in Microsoft 365 E5 and E7, Office 365 E5 and the Microsoft Purview Suite, not in E3. Basic Message Encryption is in E3, E5 and E7. [4]
  • Business Premium includes Basic Message Encryption. Customer Key, Advanced Message Encryption and Customer Lockbox come with the Microsoft Purview Suite for Business Premium. [5]
  • Customer Key encrypts Microsoft 365 data at rest with root keys you provide and control, on top of Microsoft’s own encryption. [6]
Encryption and data residency by plan (Microsoft’s plan comparisons, 1 September 2026)
FeatureBusiness PremiumE3E5
Basic Message Encryption✓ Included✓ Included✓ Included
Advanced Message Encryption+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included
Customer Key+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included
Customer Lockbox+ Add-on+ Add-on✓ Included
Advanced Data Residency+ Add-on+ Add-on+ Add-on

“Add-on” means the Microsoft Purview Suite (on E3) or the Purview Suite for Business Premium; for Advanced Data Residency, the Advanced Data Residency add-on itself.

For South African organisations

  • ClearSource does not state which services and data types the South African commitments cover, or where they are stored: see Microsoft’s “Microsoft 365 data locations” and Advanced Data Residency pages below.
  • Multi-Geo and Double Key Encryption are not in Microsoft’s plan comparisons, so ClearSource does not say which plans include them.
  • For an Advanced Data Residency price, ask your IT partner or Microsoft.

Common mistakes

  • Treating encryption as a location guarantee. Customer Key and Advanced Message Encryption are about keys and mail protection, not where data is stored.
  • Buying Advanced Data Residency for some users only. It must cover 100% of the tenant’s eligible paid seats.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. Overview of Product Terms Data Residency · Microsoft Learn · page dated 14 September 2026
  2. 2. Advanced data residency in Microsoft 365 · Microsoft Learn · page dated 18 May 2026
  3. 3. Microsoft 365 plan comparison, Enterprise (page 12) · Microsoft · page dated 1 September 2026
  4. 4. Microsoft 365 plan comparison, Enterprise (page 8) · Microsoft · page dated 1 September 2026
  5. 5. Microsoft 365 plan comparison, Business (page 6) · Microsoft · page dated 1 September 2026
  6. 6. Customer Key overview · Microsoft Learn · page dated 3 February 2025
  7. Further reading (not cited above)7. Microsoft 365 datacenter locations · Microsoft Learn · page dated 8 October 2026
  8. 8. Microsoft 365 data locations · Microsoft Learn · page dated 3 September 2026

Users and mailboxes2

Who needs a Microsoft Entra ID P1 licence?

Short answerAnyone who benefits from a P1 feature, such as Conditional Access or dynamic groups, needs Microsoft Entra ID P1.
  • Conditional Access and password-reset writeback: license every user they cover, even if it works unlicensed. [1]
  • Dynamic groups: own one P1 licence per member. Device groups need none. [2]
  • Included in Business Premium, E3, E5, F1, F3 and EMS E3. Not in Business Standard. [3]
  • Guests are billed per monthly active user, and the first 50,000 are free. [4]
  • Free Security defaults give baseline MFA but can’t be combined with Conditional Access. [5]
Details & sources

Any user who benefits from a P1 feature. That means everyone in scope of Conditional Access (MFA enforced through it included), members of dynamic groups, users of password reset with on-premises writeback and holders of custom admin roles. If you need none of that, the free Security defaults give you baseline MFA.

  • Conditional Access, self-service password reset with on-premises writeback and MFA for on-premises apps all belong to P1. Each intended user needs a licence, even where the feature technically runs without one. [1]
  • Every unique member of a dynamic group needs P1. You don’t have to assign the licences, but the tenant must own that many. Device-based dynamic groups need no licence. [2]
  • Business Premium, E3, E5, E7, F1, F3 and EMS E3 include P1, and it is also sold on its own. Business Basic, Business Standard and the Office 365 plans come with Microsoft Entra ID Free only. [3]
  • Guests don’t take per-user licences. External ID bills per monthly active user, and the first 50,000 monthly active users are free, P1 and P2 features included. [4]
  • Security defaults cost nothing: MFA registration for everyone, MFA for admins, and legacy sign-ins blocked. They are all or nothing, and you can’t combine them with your own Conditional Access policies. [5]

Common mistakes

  • Buying one P1 licence to “switch on” Conditional Access for the whole tenant.
  • Forgetting that members of dynamic groups need P1 as well.
  • Running risk-based policies or Privileged Identity Management on P1 alone. Both need Microsoft Entra ID P2 (in E5 or the Microsoft Defender Suite).

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. License self-service password reset · Microsoft Learn · page dated 4 March 2025
  2. 2. Manage rules for dynamic membership groups in Microsoft Entra ID · Microsoft Learn · page dated 13 August 2026
  3. 3. Microsoft Entra service description · Microsoft Learn · page dated 24 March 2026
  4. 4. External ID pricing · Microsoft Learn · page dated 22 June 2026
  5. 5. Security defaults · Microsoft Learn · page dated 1 July 2026
  6. Further reading (not cited above)6. Microsoft Entra licensing · Microsoft Learn · page dated 28 July 2026

Does a shared mailbox need a licence?

Short answerNot by default. Only when over 50 GB, archived, on litigation hold or protected by Microsoft Defender for Office 365.
  • Above 50 GB, up to 100 GB, it needs Exchange Online Plan 2. [1]
  • Archive or litigation hold: Plan 2, or Plan 1 plus Exchange Online Archiving. [2]
  • Microsoft Defender for Office 365: license the protected mailbox and everyone who opens it. [3]
  • Everyone who opens it needs their own licence. Block the mailbox’s own sign-in. [1]
  • Room and equipment mailboxes need no licence. A mailbox archiving everyone’s mail isn’t allowed. [2]
Details & sources

Not by default. A shared mailbox is free up to 50 GB. It needs a licence once it is larger, has an archive, sits on litigation hold, or benefits from licensed features such as Microsoft Defender for Office 365 or retention. Everyone who opens it needs their own licence. Room and equipment mailboxes don’t.

  • Without a licence, a shared mailbox holds up to 50 GB. To go up to 100 GB, the mailbox needs Exchange Online Plan 2. [1]
  • An archive, an auto-expanding archive or litigation hold needs Exchange Online Plan 2, or Plan 1 with the Exchange Online Archiving add-on. [2]
  • Microsoft’s terms for Microsoft Defender require a licence for every shared mailbox that benefits from Microsoft Defender for Office 365, and for every user who accesses a protected mailbox. [3]
  • Anyone who opens a shared mailbox needs their own Microsoft Exchange Online licence. Block sign-in on the shared mailbox’s own account: once it is used as a normal account, it is no longer a shared mailbox. [1]
  • Room and equipment mailboxes need no licence and stop at 50 GB. You may not use a shared mailbox just to collect copies of everyone’s mail for archiving. [2]

For South African organisations

  • Some blogs say Microsoft now enforces the 50 GB and archive rules technically. We found no Microsoft announcement, and the rules themselves have not changed.

Common mistakes

  • Turning a leaver’s large or archived mailbox into a shared one and removing the licence.
  • Leaving sign-in on for shared-mailbox accounts, or running them as service accounts.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. About shared mailboxes · Microsoft Learn · page dated 28 April 2026
  2. 2. Exchange Online limits · Microsoft Learn · page dated 9 September 2026
  3. 3. Microsoft Defender service description · Microsoft Learn · page dated 17 March 2025
  4. Further reading (not cited above)4. Exchange Online plans and pricing (ZA) · Microsoft · page dated 15 October 2026

Buying and contracts3

Monthly or annual commitment: what’s the real difference?

Short answerMonthly costs 20% more, and seats can drop every month. Annual seats drop only within 7 days of buying or renewal.
  • Monthly is 20% dearer: Business Standard USD 16,80 instead of USD 14,00. [1]
  • Paying an annual term in monthly instalments adds 5%. [2]
  • You can cancel with a refund only within 7 days of start or renewal. [3]
  • Add seats any time. After day 7, removals wait for renewal. [4]
  • Partner subscriptions left without a renewal choice roll on monthly at the monthly price plus 3%. [5]
Details & sources

Monthly costs 20% more: Business Premium is USD 26,40 instead of USD 22,00. In return, you can reduce seats every month. Annual fixes the price for the year, but you can only reduce or cancel seats within 7 days of buying or renewing.

  • Microsoft’s South African site shows the 20% premium for monthly terms. Business Standard: USD 16,80 monthly against USD 14,00 annual. Business Basic: USD 8,40 against USD 7,00. [1]
  • Since 1 April 2025, paying an annual or three-year term in monthly instalments costs 5% more than paying upfront. That holds in every channel: web direct, partner and MCA-E. [2]
  • A cancellation with a prorated refund works only within 7 days (168 hours) of a term starting or renewing. After that, all you can do is switch off auto-renewal. [3]
  • You can add seats at any time; they share the subscription’s price and end date. Removing seats works only in the same 7 days. Otherwise it takes effect at renewal. [4]
  • Since 2026, partner subscriptions with auto-renewal off no longer simply end. They move to a month-to-month extension at the monthly price plus 3%. [5]

For South African organisations

  • Rule of thumb: stable headcount, go annual. Seasonal staff or projects: a separate monthly subscription just for those seats.

Common mistakes

  • Buying annual seats for temporary staff. You can’t reduce them until renewal.
  • Missing the 7-day window after an automatic renewal. Check seat counts before the renewal date.
  • Assuming “annual” means paid annually. Monthly instalments cost 5% more.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. Microsoft 365 Business plans with Microsoft Teams (ZA) · Microsoft · page dated 15 October 2026
  2. 2. Flexible billing for Microsoft 365 Copilot, pricing updates for annual subscriptions & Teams Phone · techcommunity.microsoft.com · page dated 12 November 2024
  3. 3. Cancel your Microsoft business subscription · Microsoft Learn · page dated 2 July 2026
  4. 4. Create customer subscriptions in Partner Center · Microsoft Learn · page dated 4 August 2026
  5. 5. Use Extended Service Terms (EST) for Cloud Solution Provider (CSP) subscriptions · Microsoft Learn · page dated 29 May 2026
  6. Further reading (not cited above)6. Pricing and offers · Microsoft Learn · page dated 16 June 2026

Does an expiring Enterprise Agreement have to move to CSP or MCA-E?

Short answerPossibly. Microsoft no longer renews some cloud EAs, mostly smaller ones, and moves them to CSP or MCA-E.
  • Since January 2025 some cloud EAs aren’t renewed. Microsoft recommends CSP or MCA-E. [1]
  • No threshold is published. Your account team or partner can confirm. [2]
  • MCA-E: direct, open-ended, no minimum, billed in US dollars in South Africa. [3]
  • Versus the EA: no annual true-up (you buy seats when you add them), prices locked per term, seats cut only at renewal. [4]
  • CSP: the partner gives support. MCA-E: Microsoft support is a separate contract. [5]
Details & sources

Possibly. Since January 2025 Microsoft no longer renews some cloud EAs, mostly small and mid-sized ones, and tells those customers individually. They move to CSP (Microsoft’s Cloud Solution Provider programme: an IT partner bills and supports you), or buy direct under the Microsoft Customer Agreement for Enterprise (MCA-E). Since November 2025 EA renewals also no longer get volume discounts for levels B to D.

  • From 1 January 2025, “a small percentage” of cloud EAs can no longer be renewed. In their place Microsoft recommends CSP for partner services and support, or MCA-E for buying direct. [1]
  • Microsoft has published no seat threshold. Microsoft’s EA page still says 500. Only your Microsoft account team or partner can confirm your case. [2]
  • MCA-E is Microsoft’s direct, open-ended agreement. It has no purchase minimum, is available in South Africa and bills South African customers in US dollars. [3]
  • Unlike the EA, there is no annual true-up: you buy seats when you add them. Prices are locked per subscription term, and you can only reduce seats at renewal. [4]
  • In CSP the partner handles support, and you can no longer open tickets with Microsoft yourself. Under MCA-E, enterprise support is a separate Microsoft Unified Support contract. [5]

Step by step

  1. Ask your Microsoft account team or partner, 6–12 months before expiry, whether your EA can be renewed.
  2. List every subscription with its seats and end date, plus your on-premises licences with Software Assurance.
  3. Compare CSP partner offers (price, support, services) with MCA-E plus a support contract.
  4. Plan Software Assurance separately. It doesn’t carry over to CSP or MCA-E automatically.

Common mistakes

  • Leaving it to the last months before expiry.
  • Expecting a true-down at year end. Seats only go down at renewal.
  • Going direct and forgetting the cost of support.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. Accelerating growth through partners in the era of AI · Microsoft Partner Blog · page dated 12 November 2024
  2. 2. Enterprise Agreement | Microsoft Volume Licensing · Microsoft · page dated 29 September 2026
  3. 3. Microsoft Customer Agreement FAQ · Microsoft Learn · page dated 11 June 2026
  4. 4. New commerce license-based overview · Microsoft Learn · page dated 11 August 2025
  5. 5. Provide support to your customers · Microsoft Learn · page dated 18 February 2026
  6. Further reading (not cited above)6. Online Services pricing consistency update · Microsoft Licensing · page dated 12 August 2025
  7. 7. Is the Microsoft Enterprise Agreement still worth it in 2026? · SAMexpert · page dated 19 May 2026

Should we buy through a CSP partner or direct from Microsoft?

Short answerSame products and contract either way. A CSP partner suits most small and mid-sized companies; direct suits organisations with strong in-house IT.
  • Partners set their own prices, above or below Microsoft’s direct price. [1]
  • Under CSP the partner supports you. You can’t open Microsoft tickets yourself. [2]
  • Microsoft bills direct customers, the partner bills CSP customers. [3]
  • The commitment rules are identical in both channels. [4]
  • Partners should get time-limited GDAP roles (admin rights you grant and can revoke). Global Admin stays with you. [5]
Details & sources

Same products, same Microsoft Customer Agreement. What differs is who bills you, who supports you and who can administer your tenant. A CSP partner suits most small and mid-sized companies that want local support. Buying direct suits strong in-house IT, or large organisations that negotiate MCA-E and buy Microsoft support.

  • Partners set their own prices. Depending on margin, services and promotions, these can sit above or below Microsoft’s estimated retail (direct) price. [1]
  • Under CSP the partner owns support and escalates to Microsoft. You can’t open Microsoft tickets yourself. Partners must state what support they give and at what price. [2]
  • Microsoft invoices direct customers; the partner invoices CSP customers. Under the Microsoft Customer Agreement, Microsoft’s billing currency for South Africa is the US dollar. ClearSource does not state which currency partners invoice in. [3]
  • Terms, 7-day cancellation, reductions only at renewal: the commitment rules are the same in both channels. [4]
  • Partners should use GDAP: named, least-privilege, time-limited roles that you grant and can revoke. You keep your own Global Admin accounts. [5]

For South African organisations

  • Ask the partner which currency it invoices in, and how it converts Microsoft’s US-dollar price to rand.
  • Ask whether the partner bills you directly or resells through a distributor. That affects how fast problems get escalated.
  • Check any quote against Microsoft’s public US-dollar list price, shown on each licence page.

Common mistakes

  • Assuming a partner is always cheaper than list price, or always dearer. Compare the total, services included.
  • Handing a partner permanent Global Admin rights instead of scoped, time-limited GDAP roles.
  • Going direct to save the margin, then having no one to call.

Sources

ClearSource checked these sources on 25 September 2026.

  1. 1. Pricing and offers · Microsoft Learn · page dated 17 June 2026
  2. 2. Provide support to your customers · Microsoft Learn · page dated 18 February 2026
  3. 3. Microsoft Customer Agreement FAQ · Microsoft Learn · page dated 11 June 2026
  4. 4. New commerce license-based overview · Microsoft Learn · page dated 11 August 2025
  5. 5. GDAP introduction · Microsoft Learn · page dated 27 May 2026

Prices are Microsoft’s public South African list prices in US dollars per user and month, excluding VAT, read from microsoft.com/en-za on 4 October 2026. Partner (CSP) prices can differ.

Cost and product guides

Questions the plan comparison can’t settle alone, with Microsoft’s South African list prices.

    What next?

    The licence table moved to Licences

    Every Microsoft licence — with SKU ID, GUID, South African list price and the group-naming helper — now lives in Licences, next to the plan comparison and Find a plan.