Basic Message Encryption is included in 10 plans, the cheapest plan in Microsoft’s plan comparisons from USD 12,00 per user and month (EMS E3).Microsoft 365 F1 includes it from USD 3,00 per user and month — but Microsoft sells frontline plans only for frontline workers.
Send encrypted email to anyone, inside or outside the organisation, including Do Not Forward and encrypt-only options. Microsoft Learn ↗
Included in
- Microsoft 365 F1USD 3,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 F3USD 10,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Enterprise Mobility + Security E3USD 12,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Enterprise Mobility + Security E5USD 18,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 Business PremiumUSD 22,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Business, 1 September 2026), page 6
- Office 365 E3USD 26,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 E3USD 39,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Office 365 E5USD 41,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 E5USD 60,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
- Microsoft 365 E7USD 99,00 per user / month, annual, excl. VATMicrosoft product page ↗Licence detailsSource: Microsoft plan comparison (Enterprise, 1 September 2026), page 8
Data location and encryption
This page states which plans include Basic Message Encryption, as Microsoft lists it in its plan comparisons; it does not state where Microsoft stores your data. For data location, see Advanced Data Residency
Microsoft’s plan comparisons have no row for Double Key Encryption or Multi-Geo, so ClearSource does not state which plans include them.
Microsoft’s licence list has a Multi-Geo product: Office 365 Multi-Geo Capabilities — No South African price on file
Microsoft’s documentation
- Microsoft 365 data locations ↗Microsoft Learn · 3 September 2026
- Overview of Product Terms Data Residency ↗Microsoft Learn · 14 September 2026
- Advanced data residency in Microsoft 365 ↗Microsoft Learn · 18 May 2026
ClearSource restates Microsoft’s published facts in its own layout; for the full details open Microsoft’s documents. Prices are Microsoft’s South African list prices in US dollars.